The Bourne & Hollingsworth

Whenever anyone asks me where my favourite pub is in London, I always struggle. Similarly with restaurant ever since The Larder on St John Street shut down.

If somebody asks me about my favourite Bar in London than I can answer that one easily. It’s the Bourne and Hollingsworth at the bottom of Charlotte Street. A fantastic date venue too.

Bourne and Hollingsworth Exterior

The team has recently opened a new bar on Goodge Street  – which is nowhere near as good as the original. The team there described The Reverend as being a bar bar, whilst the Bourne and Hollingsworth is more like a houseparty – which it really is. That is if your gran hosted houseparties, collected empty bottles of Mumm, hired a decent DJ and made brilliant Old Fashioned’s. Although, I’d never really consider leaving my gran’s horizontally….

Named after the old department store, this small speakeasy has been here since well before other well established speakeasies like Evans & Peel and when places like Vodka Revs started serving cheap sugary cocktails in teacups.

B&H interior

B&H interior2

A surprisingly extensive cocktail menu can be found on a fold away card. Living up to the granny theme, four of these cocktails are served in old school bone china including a Chimp’s Tea which features Monkey Shoulder, peach liquor, Earl Grey tea syrup and orange zest. One of which, even comes with a crustless cucumber sandwich.

There’s more to the Bourne than old school England meets a dive bar. A DJ starts at 8 o’clock, so if you arrive in the evening expect to bump into an advertising exec dancing around the middle of this tiny floor.

Also, I wasn’t sure where to really fit this in but the men’s has a bunch of classic old books for you to enjoy and read through whilst relieving yourself.  Like the rest, it was a bit of a nice touch, which I enjoyed. So ummm yeah…. Enjoy the read.

However, it’s not for everyone. I took my aunt and uncle there after a dinner at the Riding House Café and it turns out my uncle is scared of cocktails in teacups, so he ended up sipping a pint from the solitary Aashai tap at the end of the bar.

If you can find it, it’s definitely worth a visit….

The Bourne and Hollingsworth
The Basement
28 Rathbone Place
W1T 1JF
Citymapper Directions

4 thoughts

  1. Pingback: Bourne & Hollingsworth Buildings | Pints and Plates

  2. Pingback: Bobo Social | Pints and Plates

  3. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is needed to get setup?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% sure. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Swan & Edgar | Pints and Plates

Have a thought? Leave a comment

