The Diner

I realise that I’ve been neglecting this blog recently and am definitely going to try to get this rolling again.

So, what have you missed? Well, in a slight change of direction from the more up market establishments like Odettes, Kettners and The Salt Yard, I thought that I’d start with The Diner.

The Diner is a London based chain, with five venues in Islington, Soho, Shoreditch, Kensal Rise and Camden and one has recently arrived in Covent Garden.

I can just about remember the first time that I stumbled upon this rather well-known joint and the numerous pleasant experiences I’ve had since. It’s one of those solid, dependable places. Friendly staff, decent grub and a reasonably sociable atmosphere.  Would I go there for my birthday? No. Would I go there for a hungover breakfast with the lads? Yes.

The menu can be described as expansive, covering everything from Macaroni Cheese, Burrito’s and Fajitas. Specialties? Burgers. It’s not MeatLiquor but there’s a massive range to check out including ‘The Diablo’ – 8oz sirloin, fillet and rib served with bacon and cheese in a Brioche bun.

My favourite item on the menu?  Without a shadow of a doubt, it’s all about the pancakes for me. A stack of blueberry pancakes (pictured below) definitely fills a hole nicely. I would try to avoid the high-five stack. It’s just frankly too much.5 Stack of Pancakes from The Diner, Soho

The milkshakes are first-class. Last time we went I created a Vanilla and Hazelnut combo (see below), which was extremely tantalizing.  If you’re feeling a bit adventurous than mix it up with a Hard Shake. Booze and a milkshake. What can go wrong?

Hazelnut & Vanilla Milkshake from The Diner

I’m pretty much a fan of everything that the Barworks family does and am glad that The Diner represents.

If you’ve not been yet, it’s a worth a visit.

The Diner, Soho
18 Ganton Street
London

*If you have come from the map, The Diner’s is now a larger chain. Reviewed here is their Soho branch.

Have a thought? Leave a comment

