Kettners

After realising that I hadn’t caught up with a pair of close friends in a few weeks, we decided to remedy this and indulge with a trip to Kettners in Soho.

Kettners can only be described as a bit of a Soho institution. It was where Oscar Wilde was arrested, where Lillie Langtry made love to Albert Edwards, the Prince of Wales at the time and was opened by the Chef to Napoleon. Although it has recently undergone a huge facelift, Kettners is steeped in history.

Being a bit keen for a spot of Kettners, I arrived very early and indulged in a large glass of Montepulciano d’Abruzzo; a delightful soft, fruity red wine. Coincidentally, it’s on offer at Sainsbury at the moment and is £4.99. I’d strongly recommend it.

Anyway, back to the bar. The bar can only be described as opulent and glamorous. Perfect for pre-theatre drinks. It could be argued that the bar itself was quite small but I didn’t have any issues being served.

Dinner itself? I must admit that being a vegetarian, I was a touch concerned about the lack of vegetarian options on the menu. But I knew what I was going to eat wouldn’t disappoint, which it didn’t.

I started with a Crotin of Goats Cheese, with roasted beetroot and balsamic glaze. It was the perfect starter. Potentially too small but a perfect apéritif.

The only vegetarian option was a Butternut Squash Risotto. A very good Risotto. But a Risotto non the less.  However for all those carnivores out there, I’d suggest the Beef Bourguignon, which came with smoked bacon, button mushrooms and mashed potatoes. My friend has not stopped ranting about it for days. Apparently it was soft?

All in all, a perfect evening out. I’d definitely visit the bar again. I don’t think I’d eat there unless they reorganized the vegetarian options on the menu.

Ketteners
29 Romilly St
London
W1D 5HP
Citymapper Directions

One thought

  1. Just a heads up!

    Kettners is usually on Taste Card. However, they’re not doing that over December so maybe wait off until January. But definitley get some Montepulciano d’Abruzzo to warm you up over the winter! I’m getting some this evening!

    Rav

    Like

Have a thought? Leave a comment

